It’s that time of year again! On September 24th the British Fantasy Society will be hosting the eighth annual David Gemmell Legend Awards at Fantasycon. The ceremony recognises and rewards outstanding achievements in fantasy fiction, as well as commemorating the legacy of David Gemmell and his contribution to the genre.

Since their establishment in 2009 the awards have been presented to a succession of extremely talented authors, including Brandon Sanderson, Patrick Rothfuss, Brent Weeks, John Gwynne, Mark Lawrence, Brian Staveley and Andrzej Sapkowski.

The Ravenheart Award trophy

The awards fall into three categories:

The Ravenheart award for Best Cover Art
The Morningstar award for Best Debut
The Legend award for Best Novel

The longlists are now opened for voting, and will remain so until 24th June. So if you’re keen to see some of your favourite books from 2015 make it to the shortlists (which will open on 8th July) then GET VOTING!

The longlists for each category are as follows:

The Ravenheart Award (vote HERE)

(I *strongly* urge you to visit each page to check out all of these amazing covers!)

This is one of my personal favourites. I’m utterly in love with this cover!

James Annal for Uprooted by Naomi Novik  (Pan Macmillan)

Tommy Arnold for Skyborn by David Dalglish  (Orbit)

Kerem Beyit for The Dread Wyrm by Miles Cameron  (Gollancz)

Jason Chan for The Liar’s Key by Mark Lawrence  (Harper/Voyager)

Wendy Chan for Swords and Scoundrels  by Julia Knight  (Orbit)

Alejandro Colucci for The Boy Who Wept Blood  by Den Patrick  (Gollancz)

Bastien Lecouffe Deharme for The Darkling Child  by Terry Brooks  (Orbit)

Krzysztof Domaradzki for Old Man’s Ghosts  by Tom Lloyd  (Gollancz)

Larry Elmore & Carol Russo Design for Son of the Black Sword by Larry Correia


I’ve always been a fan of bold, striking covers

Mark Ferrari for The Flotsam Trilogy Omnibus by Peter M Ball  (Apocalypse Ink


Christopher Gibbs for The Cathedral of Known Things  by Edward Cox


Sam Green for Shadows of Self  by Brandon Sanderson  (Gollancz)

Manuela Hackl for Knight’s Shadow by Sebastien de Castell  (Jo Fletcher Books)

Mohamad Hani/Archangel Images for An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir


Teddy Eduardo Iglesias for The House of Shattered Wings  by Aliette de Bodard


Patrick Insole for The Iron Ghost by Jen Williams  (Headline)

Jaime Jones for The Vagrant by Peter Newman  (Harper/Voyager)

Nik Keevil & Nick Castle for Queen of Fire by Anthony Ryan(Orbit)

Patrick Knowles for Foreign Devils by John Hornor Jacobs  (Gollancz)

Laura B for Spinning Thorns  by Anna Sheehan  (Gollancz)

Tim McDonagh for The Hunter’s Kind by Rebecca Levene  (Hodder & Stoughton)

Stylised covers like this are neat and eye-catching, but readers’ tastes differ wildly

Chris McGrath for The Aeronaut’s Windlass  by Jim Butcher  (Orbit)

Jackie Morris for Fool’s Quest by Robin Hobb  (Harper/Voyager)

Lauren Panepinto for The Fifth Season  by NK Jemisin  (Orbit)

Lauren Panepinto, Gene Mollica & Michael Frost for The Autumn Republic by

Brian McClellan  (Orbit)

Rhett Podersoo for Those Above by Daniel Polansky  (Hodder & Stoughton)

Larry Rostant for The Skull Throne by Peter V Brett  (Harper/Voyager)

Larry Rostant for Black Wolves  by Kate Elliott  (Orbit)

Larry Rostant for War of Shadows by Gail Z. Martin  (Orbit)

Larry Rostant for Reign of Iron by Angus Watson  (Orbit)

So. Damn. Gorgeous.

Duncan Spilling for Angel of Storms by Trudi Canavan  (Orbit)

Steve Stone for Battlemage by Stephen Aryan(Orbit)

Steve Stone for The Dagger’s Path by Glenda Larke  (Orbit)

Raymond Swanland for Archaon: Lord of Chaos by Rob Sanders (Black Library)

Andrew Unangst for Twelve Kings by Bradley Beaulieu  (Gollancz)

Stephen Youll for The Silver Kings by Stephen Deas  (Gollancz)

Paul Young for Ruin by John Gwynne (Pan Macmillan)

Paul Young for Acendant’s Rite by David Hair  (Jo Fletcher Books)

Paul Young for Valkyrie’s Song  by MD Lachlan  (Gollancz)

The Morningstar Award (vote HERE)

The new Morningstar Award trophy

Stephen Aryan, Battlemage  (Orbit)

Seth Dickinson, The Traitor  (Pan Macmillan)

Francesca Haig, The Fire Sermon  (Harper/Voyager)

Lucy Hounsom, Starborn  (Pan Macmillan)

Peter Newman, The Vagrant  (Harper/Voyager)

Sabaa Tahir, An Ember in the Ashes  (Harper/Voyager)

The Legend Award (vote HERE)

Joe Abercrombie, Half A War  (Harper/Voyager)

Who else thinks it’s a crime that poor Joe has yet to win a Snaga?

Bradley Beaulieu, Twelve Kings  (Gollancz)

Peter V. Brett, The Skull Throne  (Harper/Voyager)

Terry Brooks, The Darkling Child  (Orbit)

Jim Butcher, The Aeronaut’s Windlass  (Orbit)

Miles Cameron, The Dread Wyrm  (Gollancz)

Trudi Canavan, Angel of Storms (Orbit)

Larry Correia, Son of the Black Sword  (Baen)

Edward Cox, The Cathedral of Known Things  (Gollancz)

David Dalglish, Skyborn  (Orbit)

Stephen Deas, The Silver Kings  (Gollancz)

Aliette de Bodard, The House of Shattered Wings  (Gollancz)

Sebastien de CastellKnight’s Shadow  (Jo Fletcher Books)

Kate Elliott, Black Wolves  (Orbit)

David Guymer, Gotrek & Felix: Slayer (Black Library)

John Gwynne, Ruin  (Pan Macmillan)

The most coveted award of all: the Snaga

David HairAscendant’s Rite  (Jo Fletcher Books)

Joanne Hall, Spark and Carousel  (Kristell Ink)

Markus Heitz, Devastating Hate  (Jo Fletcher Books)

Robin Hobb, Fool’s Quest  (Harper/Voyager)

John Hornor Jacobs, Foreign Devils  (Gollancz)

NK Jemisin, The Fifth Season  (Orbit)

Drew Karpyshyn, Chaos Unleashed  (Del Rey)

Julia Knight, Swords and Scoundrels  (Orbit)

Snorri KristjanssonPath of Gods  (Jo Fletcher Books)

M.D. Lachlan, Valkyrie’s Song  (Gollancz)

Glenda Larke, The Dagger’s Path  (Orbit)

Mark Lawrence, The Liar’s Key  (Harper/Voyager)

Rebecca Levene, The Hunter’s Kind  (Hodder & Stoughton)

Will the Red Queen come back fighting after last year’s double defeat?

Tom Lloyd, Old Man’s Ghosts  (Gollancz)

Alex Marshall, A Crown For Cold Silver  (Orbit)

Gail Z. Martin, War of Shadows  (Orbit)

Brian McClellan, The Autumn Republic(Orbit)

Naomi Novik, Uprooted  (Pan Macmillan)

Den Patrick, The Boy Who Wept Blood  (Gollancz)

Daniel Polansky, Those Above  (Hodder & Stoughton)

Steven Poore, The Heir to the North  (Kristell Ink)

Anthony Ryan, Queen of Fire  (Orbit)

Rob Sanders, Archaon: Lord of Chaos  (Black Library)

Brandon Sanderson, Shadows of Self  (Gollancz)

If Williams makes the shortlist, d’you think she’ll let the Copper Cat attend the awards ceremony?

Anna Sheehan, Spinning Thorns  (Gollancz)

Brian Staveley, The Providence of Fire  (Pan Macmillan)

Adrian Tchaikovsky, Guns of the Dawn  (Pan Macmillan)

Ian Tregillis, The Mechanical  (Orbit)

Angus Watson, Reign of Iron (Orbit)

David Weber, The Sword of the South  (Baen)

Django Wexler, The Price of Valour  (Del Rey)

Jen Williams, The Iron Ghost  (Headline)

What. A. List. HUGE congratulations to all the nominees!

Voting will remain open until 24th June. And remember, if there’s a book you think should be on there, members of the public still have two more weeks to submit nominations.

Now for the hard part: choosing who to vote for . . .

See you in July for the shortlist announcement!DGLA Logo